ANNA

In my blog posted on January 11, 2016 called “One Night At the Hospital”, I told a story about Anna, one of the students I was teaching at the time. Her willingness to minister to a grieving mother whom she didn’t know and might never see again not only provided me with a great story to use with other ministry students but also helped me understand the nature of ministry much better. But Anna’s story doesn’t end there.

After we left Kenya and Anna finished her study, she became a church leader. At that time, the ABC didn’t ordain women and so Anna became a “Sister”. The sisters had their own structure and as if often the case, did a great deal of the work in the church. Anna’s duties would have involved preaching, administration, pastoral visitation, teaching, organizing–in short, she would have been doing everything her male counterparts were doing, except she couldn’t be ordained.

As I put it to the class one time, Anna and the other women would preach a better sermon than many of the male leaders, do good counselling with people after the worship service and then still have to make tea for the men in leadership who hadn’t done much of anything during the service. Anna and many of the women in the church thought this wasn’t right.

But Anna was called to ministry and wasn’t going to be stopped by the rules of the church, no matter what she thought about them. She did her work well, often serving in the shadows of the male leaders–and most of the time, I suspect, making them look good as a result of her good work,.

So, our story flips ahead about 30 years. I am standing on the balcony outside the teacher’s staff room at our school in Kenya. Just below is the church pastor’s house. I had heard that there had been a recent change in pastoral leadership at the church but hadn’t met the new pastor yet. So, as I am walking along the balcony to the staff room, I hear a female voice say, “Jambo, mwalimu” (Hello, teacher).

At the door of the pastor’s house is Anna, newly ordained, preparing to serve with her husband as pastor of the church. I run down to greet her and we chat a bit about old times, what we have been doing since, she asks about our daughter whom she had really taken to. It was a great meeting and one that made me feel that my earlier work was still bearing fruit.

A bit later, I have a meeting with my Kenyan counterpart as we work to set up a mentored ministry program. My job is to develop the structure and requirements of the program since I had administered a similar program in Canada. Mwangi’s part was to make sure that my structure worked in the ABC and to select good pastors as mentors since he knew the pastors better than I did.

He was excited at the meeting because he knew one pastor who would be one of the best choices we could get the for program. This pastor has a good track record and had even been an unofficial mentor to Mwangi. He developed a deep and powerful appreciation for the demands of ministry because of this association. Of course, as you have already guessed, this pastor was Anna.

So, I train Anna who trains Mwangi and then together, Anna, Mwangi and I train others. Anna’s story from the hospital became one of our case studies in the mentored ministry program and her input and insights were very valuable during the training sessions for the other mentors. The students she mentored all appreciated her wisdom and understanding of ministry.

This is part of the excitement of trying to do what God wants. He works through time and distance and separation and orchestrates a vast plan that brings people together and works through them and reunites them and does all sorts of wonderful things. My early work in Kenya helped Anna shape her already impressive ministry gifts, she helps Mwangi shape his impressive ministry gifts, I re-appear for a bit and help them develop a process that will help others benefit from their training and insights and abilities.

I don ‘t know when or even if Anna and I will connect again–but I do know that because of God’s grace, both of our ministries are stronger because of our times together.

May the peace of God be with you.

Leave a Reply

